15th – 18th December 2014 – Strasbourg

Dec 15, 2014


European Council
Budget 2015
Commission Work Programme
Recognition of Palestine
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year


European Council

Heads of State and Government will meet on Thursday to discuss economic reform and the Commission’s proposal for an investment package. Before the meeting, ECR Chairman Syed Kamall will outline the ECR’s priorities for the Council in a debate with the Italian Presidency and the Commission President.
Syed Kamall will be available for comment on Thursday afternoon at the Council building.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Summit debate: Wednesday @ 09.00

Budget 2015

The parliament will vote on last week’s agreement on the EU budget for 2015. The deal offers little concrete in terms of addressing the payments crisis and more needs to be done in terms of making unpalatable decisions of where we cut the budget in order to deliver better value for money as well as to better reflect the budgetary restraint being taken by Member States. Until the Parliament and Council start to make real steps to addressing these problems, ECR budgets spokesman Bernd Kolmel cannot support the budget.

Press officer to contact: Tobias Teuscher on +32 498 984707

Vote: Wednesday @ 12.20

Commission Work Programme

The European Commission will set out its long-awaited work programme for 2015 during a debate with MEPs. ECR MEP Vicky Ford has coordinated the ECR’s input to the programme, including which proposals should be withdrawn and brought forward. The ECR draft will be available this afternoon on the ECR website.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Debate: Tuesday @ 15.00

Recognition of Palestine

The parliament will hold a non-binding vote on whether to recognise Palestine. The ECR will meet on Tuesday evening to decide on its position. The parliament held a debate during its last session. ECR Foreign Affairs spokesman Charles Tannock’s speech can be read here.

Press officer to contact: John Furbisher on +32 498 984760

Vote: Wednesday @ 12.20

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

On behalf of all MEPs and Staff of the ECR Group, we wish you a Merry Christmas and a prosperous and successful 2015.


For enquiries relating to the ECR Group, the Group Chairman or a national delegation not listed below:

James Holtum

ECR Group Spokesman

Rue Wiertz – ATR 07K 031

B – 1047 Brussels

Tel.: + 32 473 861762

E-mail: james.holtum@europarl.europa.eu


For enquiries relating to a national delegation of the group or its members:

UK delegation:

John Furbisher

Tel.: +32 498 984760

E-mail: john.furbisher@europarl.europa.eu

Polish delegation:

Katarzyna Ochman

Tel.: +32 470 955928

E-mail: katarzyna.ochman@europarl.europa.eu

German delegation:

Tobias Teuscher

Tel.: +32 475 864064

E-mail: tobias.teuscher@europarl.europa.eu

Belgian delegation:

Laurijn van Steenbergen

Tel.: +32 486 48 56 38

E-mail: laurijn.vansteenbergen@europarl.europa.eu

Czech delegation:

Jan Krelina

Tel.: +32 493 214346

E-mail: jan.krelina@europarl.europa.eu

Dutch delegation:

Maarten Van Der Fliert

Tel.: +31 652 24 44 64

E-mail: maarten.vandefliert@europarl.europa.eu