25th-29th April – Brussels

Apr 25, 2016


EU-Turkey deal
Brussels attacks
Budget discharge
Plant health
Urban development
Vietnam trade relations


EU-Turkey deal

The European Parliament will debate the recent EU-Turkey agreement on migration. ECR home affairs spokesman Timothy Kirkhope continues to be concerned whether the agreement is workable on a practical or political level, and he argues that countries should only be considered for visa liberalisation if they meet the requisite conditions.
Press officer to contact: James Holtum

Debate: Thursday @ 08.30

Brussels attacks

The Belgian Minister of Justice Geens and Minister of the Interior Jambon will discuss last month’s terror attacks with the home affairs committee. ECR Flemish Member Sander Loones will speak on behalf of the group.
Press officer to contact: Yannick Vanderveeren


Budget discharge

The parliament will vote on ‘discharge’ (granting approval) of the 2014 EU accounts. ECR MEPs Ryszard Czarnecki (PL), Anders Vistisen (DK) and Monica Macovei (RO) are rapporteurs on different parts of the procedure.
The standing ECR position on all discharge votes is to vote against granting discharge for the EU budget until the budget as a whole receives a positive statement of assurance from the Court of Auditors.

ECR Rapporteurs are:

Mr Ryszard Czarnecki:
• European Council and Council
• European Ombudsman
• European External Action Service
• European Court Of Auditors

Mrs Monica Macovei
• European Data Protection Supervisor
• Committee of the Regions

Mr Anders Vistisen
• European Court of Justice
• European Economic and Social Committee

Press officer to contact: Kasia Ochman


The parliament will vote on the three technical files of the 4th Railway package, containing directives on safety and interoperability, and the regulation on the European Railway Agency (ERA). This vote will be to confirm officially the Parliament’s deal with the Council reached at the end of June last year. ECR MEP Roberts Zīle, rapporteur on the ERA regulation stresses that three technical files are intended to remove the technical obstacles posed by different and numerous national railway standards, to cut the time and cost required to obtain safety certification for railway operators and authorisation of rolling stock and locomotives for use on the European rail network. The legislation is much-awaited by the railway industry.

A press conference with Mr Zile and the other rapporteurs will be held after the vote.
Press officer to contact: Karlis Bumeisters

Vote: Thursday lunchtime (press conference at 14.00)

Plant health

The agriculture committee will vote on an agreement reached with EU governments on new rules aimed at curbing the influx of pests into the EU, as well as preventing them from spreading, or eradicating the most dangerous ones.
ECR MEP Anthea McIntyre is the parliament’s rapporteur on the legislation. For more information click here. N.B. this vote was postponed from last week
Press officer to contact: Robert Taylor



ECR Chairman Syed Kamall will chair a panel at a European Parliament hearing on addressing radicalisation.
Press officer to contact: James Holtum

Hearing: Tuesday from 15.00

Urban development

ECR development spokesman Nirj Deva is chairing a panel discussion on the forthcoming UN conference on Housing and Sustainable Urban Development (known as Habitat III). Speakers include Bollywood star Ms Jacqueline Fernandez. The conference is being organised with Habitat for Humanity Europe, Middle East and Africa.
Press officer to contact: Robert Taylor

Panel: Tuesday @ 18.30 in room A5E2

Vietnam trade relations

The standing rapporteur on EU-Vietnam trade, ECR MEP Jan Zahradil, will host a discussion on taking trade relations to the next level. Speakers include the Vietnamese Ambassador.
Press officer to contact: Jan Krelina

Seminar: Wednesday @ 13.45 in room A1H1


Leader Syed Kamall will co-host a reception looking forward to the Rio 2016 Paralympic games. Sir Philip Craven, President of the International Paralympic Committee, will be present.
Press officer to contact: James Holtum

Reception: Wednesday @ 18.30 in the President’s salon 12th floor PHS


ECR Vice-President Ryszard Legutko is hosting a screening or a film called, ‘Poles’, about Polish people abroad looking for answers regarding the Smolensk crash. A discussion will be held, moderated by Anna Fotyga MEP.
Press officer to contact: Kasia Ochman

Screening: Monday @ 18.00


For enquiries relating to the ECR Group, the Group Chairman or a national delegation not listed below:

James Holtum

ECR Group Spokesman

Rue Wiertz – ATR 07K 031

B – 1047 Brussels

Tel.: + 32 473 861762

E-mail: james.holtum@europarl.europa.eu


For enquiries relating to a national delegation of the group or its members:

UK delegation:

Robert Taylor

E-mail: Robert.taylor@europarl.europa.eu

Polish delegation:

Katarzyna Ochman-Kaminska

E-mail: katarzyna.ochman@europarl.europa.eu

German ALFA delegation:

Michael Strauss

E-mail: michael.strauss@europarl.europa.eu

Dutch delegation

Maarten Van Der Flierte

E-mail: maarten.vandefliert@europarl.europa.eu

Flemish delegation:

Yannick Vanderveeren

E-mail: yannick.vanderveeren@europarl.europa.eu

Czech delegation:

Jan Krelina

E-mail: jan.krelina@europarl.europa.eu

Dutch delegation:

Maarten Van Der Fliert

E-mail: maarten.vandefliert@europarl.europa.eu

Latvian delegation:

Karlis Bumeisters

E-mail: Karlis.bumeisters@europarl.europa.eu

Bulgarian delegation:

Rositsa Taleva

E-mail: Rositsa.taleva@europarl.europa.eu