The Week Ahead in the European Parliament 13-17th February 2017

Feb 09, 2017

Category:News

CETA – more jobs, lower prices 

The parliament will finally vote on the EU-Canada trade agreement and on the EU-Canada Strategic Partnership Agreement in the presence of Canadian Premier Justin Trudeau next week. The trade agreement – CETA – will cut more than €500 million in tariffs on EU products entering Canada from provisional application on 31st March, and exports are predicted to rise by over 20 percent.

ECR shadow rapporteur on CETA, David Campbell Bannerman MEP (UK), fully supports this first FTA completed with another major established OECD economy. He said: “This agreement is not just about figures on a piece of paper. It will mean more trade, more jobs and cheaper prices. It sets a new benchmark for opening trade and increase cooperation with major Western economies. Those who oppose CETA need to explain to their voters why they want to discourage new jobs, and keep prices artificially high. In the long run, more open trade  with the EU is a benefit for us all.”

The parallel political EU-Canada Strategic Partnership Agreement is being steered through the parliament by ECR foreign affairs spokesman Charles Tannock MEP (UK). It will strengthen political ties between the EU and Canada with cooperation on foreign affairs and security issues, as well as in areas such as climate and energy, migration and countering terrorism and cybercrime. Dr Tannock strongly supports the agreement.

The day after the vote on CETA, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau will address the parliament.

Debate and vote: Wednesday from 09.00

Contact: David Campbell Bannerman on +333 88 1 75733; david.campbellbannerman@europarl.europa.eu

Charles Tannock on +33 3 88 1 75870; charles.tannock@europarl.europa.eu

ECR Press officers to contact: Jan Krelina on +32 493 214346; jan.krelina@europarl.europa.eu and James Holtum on +32 473 861762; james.holtum@europarl.europa.eu

Border security

A law that requires systematic checks on every person crossing the EU’s external border is set to be adopted by the parliament. The proposal has been steered through by ECR MEP Monica Macovei (RO), who reached an agreement with EU governments last December to ensure that travellers are checked against databases such as the Schengen Information System and the Interpol database, as well as other national systems. The measure aims to improve EU security, whilst also including provisions to prevent excessive extra waiting times at airports.

Vote: Thursday @ 12.00

Press conference with Mrs Macovei: Wednesday @ 14.30

Contact: Monica Macovei on +333 88 1 75225; monica.macovei@europarl.europa.eu

ECR Press officer to contact: Otto Juote +32 475 904431; otto.juote@europarl.europa.eu

Emissions Trading Scheme

The parliament will vote its position on proposals being steered through by ECR MEP Ian Duncan (UK) which seek to reform the EU’s Emissions Trading Scheme (ETS) to make it effective at reducing greenhouse gas emissions, whilst also putting in place measures to prevent ‘carbon leakage’, where companies relocate to countries with more lenient measures.

Vote: Wednesday @ 12.00

Contact: Ian Duncan on +33 3 88 1 75249; ian.duncan@europarl.europa.eu

Press officers to contact: Yannick Vanderveeren on +32 473 806446; yannick.vanderveeren@europarl.europa.eu and Robert Taylor on +32 498 984760; robert.taylor@europarl.europa.eu

Future of the EU

The parliament will debate the future of the EU, before voting on two non-legislative wish lists that set out a further centralisation of the EU’s institutions as a supposed way of curing the EU’s crises. ECR shadow rapporteurs on the reports, Ashley Fox MEP (UK) and Kazimierz Ujazdowski MEP (PL) do not support the contents. The ECR has long argued that decentralisation, more Eurorealism and greater respect for the principle of subsidiarity (‘Europe where necessary’) are better solutions to regain citizens’ trust.

Vote: Thursday @ 12.00

Contact: Ashley Fox on +33 3 88 1 75677; ashley.fox@europarl.europa.eu

Kazimierz Ujazdowski on +333 88 1 75247; kazimierzmichal.ujazdowski@europarl.europa.eu

ECR Press Officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762; james.holtum@europarl.europa.eu

Ukraine

At the instigation of ECR Member Anna Fotyga (PL), who chairs the parliament’s security and defence subcommittee, the parliament will hold a debate on the deterioration of the situation in Eastern Ukraine after a spike in fighting.

Debate: Tuesday from around 16.00

Contact: Anna Fotyga on +33 3 88 1 75356; anna.fotyga@europarl.europa.eu

Press officers to contact: Christina Rasmussen on +32 475 780819; Christina-fogh.rasmussen@europarl.europa.eu and Katarzyna Ochman on +32 470 955928; katarzyna.ochman@europarl.europa.eu

For a list of all ECR Press Officers go to (scroll down): http://ecrgroup.eu/contacts/

The ECR was created to take the EU in a new direction, according to the principles of our founding Prague Declaration. It is the third largest group in the European Parliament with 74 MEPs from 18 EU states.

For more information on the ECR, watch our promotional video at http://youtu.be/F5syQt1JuQI or visit our website: www.ecrgroup.eu