EU-UK Policy Working Group

Following the successful adoption of the Windsor Framework Agreement, the ECR Group believes that it is particularly timely to take forward the development of a more constructive and mutually beneficial relationship between the EU and the UK.

The objectives of the EU-UK Policy Group are:

1. To examine all aspects of the relationship between the European Union and the United Kingdom

2. To work on key issues of common interest, namely:

  • A. Foreign policy and security cooperation
  • B. Competitiveness, trade, financial services and standard setting
  • C. Energy and climate cooperation
  • D. Migration and border management
  • E. Fisheries and maritime cooperation

3. To foster relations between the ECR Group in the European Parliament and the British Conservative Party which had a delegation in the ECR Group until Brexit.

At its inaugural meeting on 7 June, ECR MEP Jan Zahradil was elected President of the new EU-UK Policy Group.

The group also has five vice-presidents: MEP Geert Bourgeois, MEP Anna Fotyga, MEP Michiel Hoogeveen, MEP Bert-Jan Ruissen and MEP Charlie Weimers.