6th July – 9th July 2015 – Strasbourg

6 July 2015

6th July – 9th July 2015 – Strasbourg

Greece, TTIP, EU Presidency: From Latvia to Luxembourg, Copyright, EU agenda on security and recent terror attacks, EU Dairy sector and Srebrenica.


Following the Greek referendum, MEPs will debate the way forward for Greece. ECR Chairman Syed Kamall will speak in the debate. He will also discuss the situation in Greece at his monthly press briefing.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Syed Kamall press conference: Tuesday @ 11.30
Debate on Greece: Tuesday @ 15.00


MEPs will vote on their position and priorities for negotiators on the EU-US trade and investment partnership agreement. The vote was postponed last month, but the parliament is now expected to send out a generally pro-TTIP, albeit watered down, message. ECR trade spokesman Emma McClarkin wants to see an ambitious but balanced agreement that is mutually beneficial to Europe’s businesses of all sizes, and consumers.

Press officer to contact: Alasdair Rendall on +32 475 780819

Vote: Wednesday @ 12.30

EU Presidency: From Latvia to Luxembourg

With Latvia passing the rotating Presidency of the council to Luxembourg, both Prime Ministers will take part in debates to mark and open their Presidencies. ECR Latvian MEP Roberts Zile will give his assessment on his country’s Presidency, whilst ECR Vice-President Ryszard Legutko will set out ECR priorities for the next six months working with Luxembourg’s government.

Press officer to contact: Karlis Bumeisters on +32 473 527704

Debate on Latvian Presidency: Tuesday @ 09.00
Debate on Luxemburgish Presidency: Wednesday @ 09.00


MEPs will vote on a report looking at the implementation of EU Copyright legislation, ahead of expected proposals from the European Commission later this year.
ECR shadow rapporteur Angel Dzhambazki MEP believes the report should strike the right balance between the desire for greater portability of content services across the EU with the need to provide an adequate level of protection for rights holders.
Mr Dzhambazki is also concerned that, as it stands, the report could interfere with existing provisions in Member States on the use of photos of public buildings so will be supporting a move to delete these provisions.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Vote: Thursday @ 12.00

EU agenda on security and recent terror attacks

ECR Foreign Affairs spokesman Charles Tannock will speak on the terror attacks on the 26th June. Meanwhile the parliament will adopt a resolution on the European Agenda on Security. ECR home affairs spokesman Timothy Kirkhope cannot support the resolution as it is currently drafted as it fundamentally fails to address the key security challenges facing the EU, such as terrorism, radicalisation, the rights of victims, child protection, human trafficking, and the resources, legislation and cooperation required to deliver this agenda.

Press officer to contact: John Furbisher on +32 498 984760

Debate on terror attacks: Wednesday @ 15,00
Vote on security resolution: Thursday @ 12,00

EU Dairy sector

A report drafted by ECR agriculture spokesman James Nicholson looks at the impact of measures brought forward under the 2012 milk package and the vulnerability of dairy farmers to market volatility, increasing costs and practices like the use of milk as a ‘loss leader’ by retailers, which have been further compounded by Russia’s embargo.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Vote: Tuesday @ 13.00


To commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Srebrenica massacre, Jan Zahradil will host a memorial event with survivors, musicians and speeches.

Event: in the Margaret Thatcher Room N3.2 @ 19.45


For enquiries relating to the ECR Group, the Group Chairman or a national delegation not listed below:

James Holtum

ECR Group Spokesman

Rue Wiertz – ATR 07K 031

B – 1047 Brussels

Tel.: + 32 473 861762

E-mail: james.holtum@europarl.europa.eu

For enquiries relating to a national delegation of the group or its members:

UK delegation:

John Furbisher

Tel.: +32 498 984760

E-mail: john.furbisher@europarl.europa.eu

Polish delegation:

Katarzyna Ochman

Tel.: +32 470 955928

E-mail: katarzyna.ochman@europarl.europa.eu

German delegation:

Tobias Teuscher

Tel.: +32 475 864064

E-mail: tobias.teuscher@europarl.europa.eu

Belgian delegation:

Luc Rochtus

Tel.: +32 479 734567

E-mail: luc.rochtus@europarl.europa.eu

Czech delegation:

Jan Krelina

Tel.: +32 493 214346

E-mail: jan.krelina@europarl.europa.eu

Dutch delegation:

Maarten Van Der Fliert

Tel.: +31 652 24 44 64

E-mail: maarten.vandefliert@europarl.europa.eu

Bulgarian delegation:

Daniela Koleva

Tel.: +32 475 634973

E-mail: Daniela.koleva@europarl.europa.eu

Latvian delegation:

Karlis Bumeisters

Tel.: +371 29245260

E-mail: Karlis.bumeisters@europarl.europa.eu







Jan Zahradil

2 hours ago

During this @CyberSecMonth I organized an exhibition in cooperation with @Google at @Europarl_EN on #CyberSecuritytwitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

3 hours ago

Triggering one of the most divisive debates we have seen in Europe for 30 years. The EU was always supposed to be… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

3 hours ago

One country was allowed to flout established migration rules. And, to deal with the consequences of that decision,… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

3 hours ago

The outgoing commission embarked on the most sustained pursuit of democratic elected governments we have ever seen.… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

3 hours ago

However, losing the UK is a disappointment of historic proportions. #Brexit unfortunately did not trigger a period… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

3 hours ago

I would like to thank the outgoing @JunckerEU for his commitment to public service. His initiatives to secure our e… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

3 hours ago

Our chair Ryszard #Legutko speaking in the debate summing up the the Presidency of @JunckerEU #EPlenary

ECR Group

20 hours ago

Despite female genital mutilation being internationally recognised as a #humanrights violation, every minute 7 girl… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

4 days ago

Next week in Strasbourg: Group leaders will discuss #Brexit on Monday evening following the outcome of Saturday's v… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

4 days ago

"We welcome the #brexitdeal -it is in our interest to ensure the UK leaves the EU in an orderly way. It now passes… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

© 2018. All rights reserved. European Conservatives and Reformists Group