8th – 11th June 2015 – Strasbourg

8 June 2015

8th – 11th June 2015 – Strasbourg

TTIP, Shareholders rights, Energy security, FIFA, Russia and Syed Kamall press briefing.

TTIP’s benefits for Small and Medium Enterprises

The parliament will vote on its position on the EU-US agreement, following on from a vote in the parliament’s trade committee two weeks ago. ECR trade spokesman Emma McClarkin wants to see an ambitious and balanced deal that aims to increase market access, regulatory cooperation and coherence, and which puts in place clear rules for SMEs, competition, customs, energy, intellectual property, data flows, investment protection, and transparency. Ms McClarkin hosted a conference on the potential benefits of TTIP to SMEs last week.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Vote: Wednesday @ 12.00

Shareholders rights

MEPs are likely to vote on proposals to improve the corporate governance of around 10 000 companies listed on Europe’s stock exchanges. However, initial proposals from the commission which were generally sensible have been turned into a series of burdensome regulation by the socialist lead MEP and an alliance of the far left groups.
ECR Shadow rapporteur Sajjad Karim is hopeful that the vote can remove some of the most burdensome aspects, allowing a piece of legislation that creates a more attractive environment for shareholders and promotes competitiveness and sustainability of EU companies.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Vote: Wednesday @ 12.00

Energy security

The parliament will vote on a non-legislative report on the EU’s energy security strategy. What was originally a broadly sensible position set out by the parliament’s lead member has been heavily amended to focus on legally binding energy targets, top-down legal obligations for the deep renovation of buildings, and significant new costs and bureaucracy for businesses.
The ECR’s shadow rapporteur Ashley Fox believes the report’s focus should be on completing the internal energy market and ending EU dependance on unreliable energy suppliers, not imposing new red tape onto businesses.

Press officer to contact: John Furbisher on +32 498 984760

Vote: Wednesday @ 12.00


The parliament will debate and vote on a resolution on the ongoing scandal gripping FIFA.
MEP Emma McClarkin and ECR culture spokesman Andrew Lewer believe that Blatter’s welcome and overdue decision to resign should be seen as an opportunity for FIFA to clean out corruption and begin real reform with full transparency and democracy at its heart.

Press officer to contact: Alasdair Rendall on +32 475 780819

Debate: Wednesday @ 15.00


In light of a number of MEPs – including five from the ECR – being placed on Russia’s so-called ‘blacklist’, MEPs will debate a report on EU-Russia relations.
The report takes a robust line on Russia’s aggression in Ukraine and the annexation of Crimea, as well as Russia’s human rights record. ECR shadow rapporteur Anna Fotyga has also amended the report to include calls for the return of the wreckage and black boxes of the President of Poland’s plane, which crashed at Smolensk.

Press officer to contact: Katarzyna Ochman on +32 470 955928

Vote: Thursday @ 12.00

Syed Kamall press briefing

ECR Chairman Syed Kamall will hold a press briefing on Tuesday @ 09.50 in room LOW N-1/201

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Tuesday @ 09.50 in room LOW N-1/201


For enquiries relating to the ECR Group, the Group Chairman or a national delegation not listed below:

James Holtum

ECR Group Spokesman

Rue Wiertz – ATR 07K 031

B – 1047 Brussels

Tel.: + 32 473 861762

E-mail: james.holtum@europarl.europa.eu

For enquiries relating to a national delegation of the group or its members:

UK delegation:

John Furbisher

Tel.: +32 498 984760

E-mail: john.furbisher@europarl.europa.eu

Polish delegation:

Katarzyna Ochman

Tel.: +32 470 955928

E-mail: katarzyna.ochman@europarl.europa.eu

German delegation:

Tobias Teuscher

Tel.: +32 475 864064

E-mail: tobias.teuscher@europarl.europa.eu

Belgian delegation:

Luc Rochtus

Tel.: +32 479 734567

E-mail: luc.rochtus@europarl.europa.eu

Czech delegation:

Jan Krelina

Tel.: +32 493 214346

E-mail: jan.krelina@europarl.europa.eu

Dutch delegation:

Maarten Van Der Fliert

Tel.: +31 652 24 44 64

E-mail: maarten.vandefliert@europarl.europa.eu

Bulgarian delegation:

Daniela Koleva

Tel.: +32 475 634973

E-mail: Daniela.koleva@europarl.europa.eu

Latvian delegation:

Karlis Bumeisters

Tel.: +371 29245260

E-mail: Karlis.bumeisters@europarl.europa.eu







ECR Group

5 hours ago

Next week in Strasbourg: Group leaders will discuss #Brexit on Monday evening following the outcome of Saturday's v… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group


"We welcome the #brexitdeal -it is in our interest to ensure the UK leaves the EU in an orderly way. It now passes… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

Raffaele Fitto

4 days ago

Gratuluję @pisorgpl wygranej w wyborach parlamentarnych w #PL.W imieniu @ecrgroup życzę im powodzenia w realizacji… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

Jan Zahradil

4 days ago

In Poland, absolutely outstanding electoral results for @pisorgpl party, our @ecrgroup and @ECRparty member! It’s v… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

Raffaele Fitto

4 days ago

Il partito Diritto e Giustizia ha vinto le elezioni in #Polonia Come co-presidente di @ecrgroup faccio i miei migli… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

7 days ago

Today is international #DayoftheGirl & this week The Restorers were shortlisted for the @Europarl_EN #Sakharov Priz… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

8 days ago

We must continue to strengthen our resilience against #ElectionInterference warned our foreign affairs spokesperso… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

9 days ago

Our Co-Chair @RaffaeleFitto has called for compromise on #Brexit during today's debate with Commission President… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

10 days ago

Our @ecrgroup priorities for Executive VP-designate Frans Timmermans in the #EPhearings2019 and the… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

ECR Group

10 days ago

ECR nominated FGM campaigners shortlisted for 2019 Sakharov Prize! Congratulations @Assita_Kanko @iCutKe - Read mor… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

© 2018. All rights reserved. European Conservatives and Reformists Group