26th – 30th January 2015 – Brussels


The ECR Working Group on Better Regulation and Re-shoring will hold a round table discussion on “Re-shoring: Bringing jobs back to Europe”. Chaired by Anthea McIntyre MEP, the programme will include policy experts and business representatives such as Daniel Korski, Special Adviser to the British Prime Minister, and David Caro, President, European Small Business Alliance.

Press officer to contact: John Furbisher on +32 498 984760 or john.furbisher@europarl.europa.eu

Roundtable: Wednesday@ 09.00 in room A1H1

Money laundering

An agreement on legislation to reform the EU’s money laundering rules will be put to the vote in a joint meeting of the economics and civil liberties committees. ECR MEP Timothy Kirkhope is parliament’s lead member on part of the proposal regarding the information that accompanies all bank and wire transfers, to fill the gaps and loopholes that can be used by criminals and terrorists to launder funds. Future transfers would require some basic information on the payee to be transmitted alongside the transfer, and providers would be required to establish risk-based procedures to determine when necessary to execute or reject a transfer, or to demand more information if foul play is suspected.
The package of legislation represents a reasonable balance between ensuring transparency of company ownership when necessary, and protecting often very personal information of people’s financial arrangements, such as wills and trusts.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Vote: Tuesday morning

Counter terrorism debate

The full parliament will debate counter-terrorism policy in the EU. Timothy Kirkhope MEP, ECR Justice and Home Affairs spokesman will argue that urgent progress needs to be made on finding agreement on his report on an EU Passenger Name Records system for the EU, with safeguards built in to ensure people have protection of their data. Failure to do so, he will say, will result in national governments setting up their own PNR systems, with a patchwork of protections in place.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762 or james.holtum@europarl.europa.eu

Debate: Wednesday @ 15.00

Investment fund

The parliament will hold a debate on the European Commission’s recent proposals to bring forward an investment fund. ECR Chairman Syed Kamall will speak in the debate. He has previously said that he welcomes the debate about lack of investment in Europe that has been kick-started by the proposal, but he is concerned that the fund could lead to a situation where ‘heads, investors win; tails, taxpayers lose’.

Press officer to contact: James Holtum on +32 473 861762

Debate: Wednesday @ 16.00

Breast Cancer

ECR MEP Emma McClarkin will host an exhibition on “I am not the cancer”, aimed at raising awareness of advanced breast cancer (ABC).

Opening: Tuesday @ 18.30 on the 3rd floor exhibition area


For enquiries relating to the ECR Group, the Group Chairman or a national delegation not listed below:

James Holtum

ECR Group Spokesman

Rue Wiertz – ATR 07K 031

B – 1047 Brussels

Tel.: + 32 473 861762

E-mail: james.holtum@europarl.europa.eu

For enquiries relating to a national delegation of the group or its members:

UK delegation:

John Furbisher

Tel.: +32 498 984760

E-mail: john.furbisher@europarl.europa.eu

Polish delegation:

Katarzyna Ochman

Tel.: +32 470 955928

E-mail: katarzyna.ochman@europarl.europa.eu

German delegation:

Tobias Teuscher

Tel.: +32 475 864064

E-mail: tobias.teuscher@europarl.europa.eu

Belgian delegation:

Luc Rochtus

Tel.: +32 479 734567

E-mail: luc.rochtus@europarl.europa.eu

Czech delegation:

Jan Krelina

Tel.: +32 493 214346

E-mail: jan.krelina@europarl.europa.eu

Dutch delegation:

Maarten Van Der Fliert

Tel.: +31 652 24 44 64

E-mail: maarten.vandefliert@europarl.europa.eu

Bulgarian delegation:

Daniela Koleva

Tel.: +32 475 634973

E-mail: Daniela.koleva@europarl.europa.eu

Latvian delegation:

Karlis Bumeisters

Tel.: +371 29245260

E-mail: Karlis.bumeisters@europarl.europa.eu




  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter